When the police pull you over and arrest you for DUI, it’s natural to feel apprehensive about what’s coming next.
If you’re facing a second DUI within the last ten years, you’ll know you’re facing a harsher penalty than the first time around. But just exactly what does the law in Georgia say about the possible consequences of a second DUI offense?
Penalties for a second DUI in Georgia
Georgia treats DUI offenses seriously which is reflected in the severity of the penalties. On conviction, the law provides for the following sanctions:
- A fine somewhere between $600 and $1000 depending on the seriousness of the offense
- A period of imprisonment ranging from a minimum of 90 days to a maximum of one year
- At least 30 days of community service
- A period of probation lasting twelve months (reduced for any time spent incarcerated)
- Completion of an Alcohol or Drug Risk Reduction Program within 120 days of the conviction
Is jail time mandatory?
Georgia laws require a mandatory 72 hours of actual incarceration, meaning some jail time is unavoidable. The judge does have discretion, however, as to the total amount of time spent in jail and how much is given as time spent on probation instead.
The judge will take into account your defense when making their decision. The length of jail time given will depend on the nature of the offense and any aggravating or mitigating factors.
In light of this, it’s going to be essential to make sure you have some legal assistance in place as soon as possible. This is going to be your best opportunity to both challenge and defend the case against you.