Passion For The Law And Devotion To Our Clients

What You Should Know About DUI Charges

A DUI conviction can leave you with lasting consequences even after you served your sentence. When a conviction can keep you from driving, make earning employment more difficult, and make any future charges more severe, having the information you need about your current case can be the advantage you need in your defense.

At Dodd & Burnham, we proudly represent clients throughout Georgia and answer their questions throughout the process. Our extensive experience in these cases allows us to answer your questions, such as:

Are There Alternatives To A License Suspension?

If the DUI charges you are facing can result in the court suspending your license, you may be able to avoid that sentencing. We can request a hearing to install an interlock device for your vehicle as an alternative to losing your license entirely.

What Is The Legal DUI Limit?

Georgia law allows you to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of no more than .08% if you are older than 21. If you are under the age of 21, the legal limit is .02%. Commercial vehicle drivers also have a different limit according to state law, which is .04%.

What Are The Minimum Penalties Of My Charges?

Depending on how many prior convictions you have on your record, the intensity of your conviction will increase. Minimum sentencing for your charges can include:

  • First offense – $300 in fines, 40 hours of community service, at least 10 days in jail (with a minimum of 24 hours served), and license suspension of up to one year.
  • Second offense – $600 in fines, 30 days of community service, a minimum of 72 hours in jail, 18 months of a suspended license, and an ignition interlock of any car you drive.
  • Third offense – $1,000 in fines, 30 days of community service, at least 15 days in jail, license revocation of up to 5 years, and a $410 license reinstatement fee.

Our goal in your DUI defense is to beat your charges and minimize the consequences of a conviction.

Can I Refuse A DUI Test?

Officers often use different forms of testing to prove your intoxication behind the wheel, such as a blood, breath, or urine test. You have the right to refuse a test, but the prosecution in your case will argue that you refused it because you knew you would not pass it. However, because your refusal is protected by the Georgia Constitution, the prosecution cannot use your refusal against you in the criminal case.

How Can A Lawyer Help Me?

Instead of hoping for a favorable outcome while risking the worst outcome by representing yourself, let us stand for you in your defense case. Our team can review all the options you have available in your case, and look for methods of dismissing your charges by scrutinizing your charges. If necessary, we can negotiate for a fair plea deal to reduce your sentencing or charges. Finally, we are prepared to use the full extent of our legal abilities to fight for you in court.

If you are ready to learn more about your DUI charges, how we can help you, and where to start building your defense case, call us today at 229-474-3609 or email us here to schedule your free initial consultation.